Hello Hillcrest MACC community

Hello Hillcrest MACC community!

DSC_7122

A few weeks ago I found out I will be teaching the Grade 8 MACC class this year. I am very grateful to be in this position as I love the creative options this program offers in curriculum and team teaching. Last year, I worked at Hillcrest as a member of Orange Team and taught Humanities 8.  I have taught in the Coquitlam School District at the Secondary and Middle School level for 8 years now. I also taught for one year at a BC School in Wenzhou, China. My teaching career actually started at 16 years old when I started my first job as a swimming lesson instructor and lifeguard for the City of Coquitlam.

In my personal life I have several passions: firstly, being a husband and father. My daughter, Gabriella, who is one and a half years old, is currently teaching me so much about learning. She is picking up new words every day. In fact we just went for her first ride on the Sky Choo Choo (Skytrain). My wife is due in March so this should be a big year; new job, and another new family member.

I also enjoy international travel. I have spent a lot of time backpacking to places such as India, China, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Ecuador and Peru. On weekends I try to spend my time on one of the many mountain ranges or inlets of this beautiful province. Finally, I also have a passion for fitness and you may see me slowly working my way up Thermal on my bike in the mornings; not quite at Mr. Utting speed though!

I am looking forward to working with Ms. Abbot and Ms. Ruhr this year. They are very strong teachers with lots of experience.  I use the slogan ‘Win the Day’ to encourage my students to make the most of every moment. I can’t wait to see how this will look and sound for my students this year.

See you in September,

Mr. Wiskar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *