Gobbling Gratitude from a Grateful Group

We are sitting in the library and the students are busily brainstorming and planning their passion projects.  I hear excitement about learning about photography, computer programming, cooking, and writing graphics novels.

2014-10-09 15.49.22

We have continued to read “Wonder” by RJ Palacio and created visual representations for one of the main characters.

 

We have continued the units in Math.  Grade 6’s are working on pattern rules and learned about variables this week.  They also learned about 4 quadrants and ordered pairs.  Grade 7’s continued to work on “Mastering the Basics”.  In french, Grade 7’s are learning about time and Grade 6’s are learning about le pizza.  Grade 6’s interviewed a partner about what toppings they liked on their pizza and then introduced them to the rest of the class. Grade 7’s are designing an island that has symbols that represent our positive traits.  Grade 6’s are continuing to build their learner profile and worked through an executive skills survey this week.

I am grateful for the curious and engaged students that make my job so much fun.

Here are some things the students are grateful for this week:

  • for friends who are always there when I need them
  • my brother who helps me with my work
  • the time I’m spending with my friends
  • plumbing…. clean water…. and turkey
  • sister buying me bubble tea
  • mom’s cooking
  • a place to live
  • that I know how to tie my ballet shoes
  • for 4 PE blocks this week
  • the nice day we are having
  • thankful for my family
  • Thanksgiving …. seeing friends and family
  • Thanksgiving dinner and yummy food
  • parents… I was sick this week and they were able to help me get better
  • family, friends, teachers…. people that care for me.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *